Skip to content

Certainty

31 March, 2007

“The demand for certainty is one which is natural to man, but is nevertheless an intellectual vice.”

Bertrand Russell

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 April, 2007 1:52 am

    Amen. I know I really yearn for certainty- it’s what I miss about Mormonism. As a Mormon you’re secure in your testimony, you Know The Church Is True, you know where you come from and you know where you’re going. You have all the answers, and you are secure in the certainty that the answers you do not have are answers you do not need.

    Except, I think it’s all an illusion. As much as I want there to be certainty, and as scary as it is to not have any, I just don’t think real certainty is there for the getting.

    And when a person is “certain,” it so often leads to smugness and intolerance, all based on the spiritual equivalent of a house of cards.

  2. 2 April, 2007 2:19 pm

    I know.
    I think what we have to do is learn to deal with the fact that we can’t be certain about some things; it’s more honest – but also more painful – to accept uncertainty than to cling to false certainties.

Leave a Reply

