Skip to content

Prayers like gravel

26 April, 2007

I like this striking analogy of our search for meaning, by Welsh poet R S Thomas: 

Prayers like gravel,
flung at the sky’s
window, hoping to attract
the loved one’s
attention. But without
visible plaits to let
down for the believer
to climb up,
to what purpose open
that far casement?

I would
have refrained long since,
but that peering once
through my locked fingers
I thought that I detected
the movement of a curtain.

“Folk Tales” from Experimenting with an Amen

One Comment leave one →
  1. 27 April, 2007 2:26 pm

    Prayers of Love
    Like Heaven
    Fall round my garden.

    I hear them in Peace.

Leave a Reply

