Skip to content

Some reasons for being a member of a religious group (1)

3 June, 2008

Reasons for being a member of a religious group:

  1. upbringing; you were brought up that everyone should have a religion, and haven’t questioned that
  2. culture: in your country / region, religion and culture are closely intertwined: most everybody is a member of that group;
  3. hero; you admire the founder of the group and want to show that you identify with him / her
  4. heros; you admire other members of the group and the way they act/ talk/ … and want to be like them
  5. loneliness; membership brings you human contact, even friendship
  6. you’re looking for answers and they seem to offer some
  7. you feel uncomfortable with the uncertainties of life, and religion persuades you there are some certainties
  8. you want to live life according to a moral code and think that morality only stems from religious beliefs
  9. being a member of the group brings you priveleges in society,
  10. being a member of this group gives you power over others
  11. separateness; group membership lets you feel that you’re ‘better’ than some / all other humans
2 Comments leave one →
  1. croixian1 permalink
    3 June, 2008 11:08 pm

    In other words ‘Argumentum ad Populum’

  2. 11 June, 2008 10:12 pm

    I’m not a joiner, so I guess I don’t count. I can’t really put my name to anything because I’m always drifting. But I do get lonely, I have morals, I seek answers the rest don’t suit me. If I were to join it would only be to offer my name in support. That’s all.

Leave a Reply

