Skip to content

Death Anxiety

27 March, 2010

On my ‘to read’ list:

In ‘Staring at the Sun’, Irvin Yalom asserts that the fear of death is at the heart of much of our anxiety. Once we confront our own mortality, he believes, we are inspired to rearrange our priorities, communicate more deeply with those we love, appreciate more keenly the beauty of life, and increase our willingness to take the risks necessary for personal fulfillment.

Well, if these are the benefits, it’s gotta be worth a try, I guess.

We’ll see…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly permalink
    20 April, 2010 3:19 am

    Have you read this book yet? I’m curious about it. In the past few months I’ve developed what others seem to be calling “death anxiety.” I don’t believe in god so I find no comfort in the thought of heaven or an afterlife. I feel like we just end. Life is just over. And I’m just not happy about that. Whether I die when I’m 30 (hopefully not!) or when I’m 85 I’m just pissed that we die at all. I know it’s inevitable. I know it’s going to happen whether I’m ready for it or not. Anyway..I’d like to know if this book was any good or in any way comforting.

    • 20 April, 2010 10:32 pm

      Hi. Thanks for stopping by. The thing is: I never yet got around to reading this book because I kinda got depressed and figured it wouldn’t be a good time to read it right then. Plus, now I’m *not* feeling depressed I kinda don’t wanna take the risk of reading it in case it brings me down. I’ll see….

      My realisation about my death anxiety came when I realised that I no longer believe in a personal, omnipotent God, or an afterlife. Actually, it was mostly the afterlife thing that bugged me. It made me feel so angry that this is all there is. Right now, I’m more accepting of the fact and just tell myself to get on and live. It also helped me to think: if we did live on for ever and ever: how boring that would get! I don’t actually think I could handle eternal life! It’s good for us to have a time frame in which we have to do whatever we’re gonna do. B t w, as I understand it, ‘death anxiety’ as a psychological term seems to be something we all experience, but mostly repress it, or deny it. It’s probably healthy to actually let ourselves feel it and acknowledge it.

      Hope this helps. And when I read the book, I’ll post about it.

  2. Molly permalink
    21 April, 2010 12:00 am

    See I was afraid of the same thing. I have this book on my wish list on amazon but I’m afraid if I read it it may do more harm than good. sigh. lol
    I agree with you though. On one hand, I’m angry that this is all we have. Don’t get me wrong, I like life, I don’t want it to end, obviously, but its so short!
    And on the other hand..I don’t think I could handle eternal life either!
    What does Puck say in a Mid Summer’s Nights Dream? What fools these mortals be?

  3. 22 April, 2010 10:35 pm

    This earlier post might help …
    https://mombacho.wordpress.com/2008/06/19/life-anxiety-death-anxiety/

  4. 12 May, 2010 12:24 am

    Last summer/fall, I had intermittent inner ear problems and would get vertigo out of nowhere. The last time it happened I was going 70mph in the left lane of a freeway. I got so freaked out it triggered a full-blown panic attack. I had to pull over and call 911. I went to the hospital and was fine, but ever since then, even 8 months later, I get anxiety when I drive on the freeway. Lucky for me, I have to drive that stretch of road on my way to school 4 times a week but it has still been *really* tough.

Leave a Reply

